AMGA’s Board of Directors has approved its 2019 Executive Committee and appointed 4 new members to its 11-member Board. Appointments are effective on January 1, 2019.

“AMGA’s Board represents the nation’s highest-performing medical groups and integrated systems of care, who understand how optimizing care delivery improves patient outcomes and supports a value-based care system,” said Jerry Penso, M.D., M.B.A. AMGA President and Chief Executive Officer. “Their expertise will be instrumental to AMGA in its mission to help members improve population health, lower costs and improve care quality.”

Christopher J. Sclafani, PE, M.B.A., Chief Operating Officer of CareMount Medical, P.C., will serve as AMGA’s Board Chair in 2019. A renowned workforce development strategist and innovator, Sclafani has been actively involved with AMGA for well over a decade. He succeeds Ashok Rai, M.D., President and Chief Executive Officer of Prevea Health, who will remain on the Board’s Executive Committee as Immediate Past Chair.

“The U.S. healthcare system is going through a major transformation, and it’s during times like these that organizations such as my own look to AMGA for advocacy, best-practices and peer-to-peer learning,” Sclafani said. “I am honored to serve alongside a group as accomplished as AMGA’s Board to enhance the organization’s value to members and advance high-performance health.”

AMGA Board appointments, including its Executive Committee, represent the breadth and diversity of AMGA’s membership. The full 2019 Executive Committee includes:

Christopher J. Sclafani, PE, M.B.A. (Chair)
Chief Operating Officer,
CareMount Medical, P.C.

Grace Emerson Terrell, M.D., M.M.M., FACP, FACPE (Chair-Elect)
Chief Executive Officer,
Envision Genomics
General Internist,
Wake Forest Baptist Healthcare Cornerstone Internal Medicine

Aric Sharp, M.H.A., CMPE, FACHE (Secretary)
Managing Director, Enterprise and Government Ventures,
UnityPoint Health

Tim Weir, M.H.A., M.B.A., FACHE (Treasurer)
Chief Executive Officer,
Olmsted Medical Center

Stephen Jones, M.D. (At Large Member)
Chief Executive Officer,
Inova Health System

Ashok Rai, M.D. (Immediate Past Chair)
President and Chief Executive Officer,
Prevea Health

Jerry Penso, M.D., M.B.A. (AMGA President and Chief Executive Officer)
President and Chief Executive Officer,

The new Board appointments for 2019 are:

Carol Brockmiller, CMPE
Chief Executive Officer,
Quincy Medical Group

Richard S. Isaacs, M.D., FACS
Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director,
The Permanente Medical Group, Inc.
President and Chief Executive Officer,
The Mid‐Atlantic Permanente Medical Group, P.C. Kaiser Permanente

Kim Sherbrooke, M.H.A., FACMPE
Vice President,
Johns Hopkins Medicine
Chief Operating Officer,
Office of Johns Hopkins Physicians

Mary Jo Williamson
Vice President, Clinic Administration
Mayo Clinic Health System

Seven individuals will continue their Board service in 2019:

Beth Averbeck, M.D.
Senior Medical Director, Primary Care
HealthPartners Medical Group

Mark Briesacher, M.D.
Senior Vice President, Chief Physician Executive,
Intermountain Healthcare
Intermountain Medical Group

Mark DeRubeis, M.B.A.
Chief Executive Officer,
Premier Medical Associates

Scott Hines, M.D.
Chief Quality Officer and Medical Director,
Crystal Run Healthcare

John E. Jenrette, M.D.
Executive Vice President,
Cedars-Sinai Medical Network

Larry Tatum, M.D.
Chief Executive Officer,
Privia Medical Group North Texas

Karen Weiner, M.D, M.M.M., CPE
Chief Executive Officer,
Oregon Medical Group


About AMGA
AMGA is a trade association leading the transformation of health care in America. Representing multispecialty medical groups and integrated systems of care, we advocate, educate, innovate, and empower our members to deliver the next level of high-performance health. AMGA is the national voice promoting awareness of our members’ recognized excellence in the delivery of coordinated, high quality, high-value care. More than 175,000 physicians practice in our member organizations, delivering care to one in three Americans. For more information, visit